Call For Contributions

ICDL is a unique conference gathering researchers from computer science, robotics, psychology and developmental studies to share knowledge and research on how humans and animals develop sensing, reasoning and actions. This includes taking advantage of interaction with social and physical environments and how cognitive and developmental capabilities can be transferred to computing systems and robotics. This approach goes hand in hand with the goals of both understanding human and animal development and applying this knowledge to improve future intelligent technology, including for robots that will be in close interaction with humans.

The primary list of topics of interest include, but not limited to:

  • principles and theories of development and learning;
  • development of skills in biological systems and robots;
  • nature vs nurture, developmental stages;
  • models on the contributions of interaction to learning;
  • non-verbal and multi-modal interaction;
  • models on active learning;
  • architectures for lifelong learning;
  • emergence of body and affordance perception;
  • analysis and modelling of human motion and state;
  • models for prediction, planning and problem solving;
  • models of human-human and human-robot interaction;
  • emergence of verbal and non-verbal communication;
  • epistemological foundations and philosophical issues;
  • robot prototyping of human and animal skills;
  • ethics and trust in computational intelligence and robotics;
  • social learning in humans, animals, and robots.

Download the Call for Papers (A4 format)

Important Dates

Workshops Monday, 7th September 2020
Workshop Proposals Open Sunday, 15th December 2019
Workshop Proposals Deadline Wednesday, 15th January 2020
Workshop Proposals Notification Saturday, 15th February 2020
Paper Submission Open Saturday, 15th February 2020
Paper Submission Deadline Sunday, 15th March 2020
Paper Author Notification Friday, 15th May 2020
Final Paper Version Due Wednesday, 1st July 2020
Abstract Submission Open Friday, 1st May 2020
Abstract Submission Deadline Sunday, 31st May 2020
Abstract Author Notification Friday, 26th June 2020
Final Abstract Version Due Friday, 10th July 2020
Registration Opens Friday, 15th May 2020
Early Registration Pricing Ends Wednesday, 1st July 2020
Travel Grant Application Opens To be announced
Travel Grant Application Closes To be announced
Travel Grant Award Notification To be announced
Registration Grant Application Opens Friday, 15th May 2020
Registration Grant Application Closes Monday, 15th June 2020
Registration Grant Notification Wednesday, 24th June 2020
Poster Teaser Presentations Submission Tuesday, 1st September 2020
Welcome Reception Monday, 7th September 2020
Dinner Wednesday, 9th September 2020
Farewell Reception Thursday, 10th September 2020
Tours Friday, 11th September 2020

Submission page

Call for Tutorials / Workshops

We invite experts in different areas to organise either a tutorial or a workshop to be held on the first day of the conference. Tutorials will provide insights into specific topics through hands-on training and interactive experiences. Workshops will extend to a half or full day and could include invited speakers, discussions with a smaller community, and independent submissions.

Submission page